We live in a digital world where information and communication technology (ICT) is central to our modern lives. There is a high demand for graduates with strong computer science skills and employers often report difficulties recruiting well-qualified staff.

Ffynone House excellence in ICT. It is taught as a separate subject and used as a learning tool across the curriculum. Consequently, we are proud of the high level of proficiency that all of our students achieve.

Students have continued to gain good grades at GCSE and A Level, and have the opportunity to start the GCSE course in Year 9.


Computer Science, the study of computational thinking, covers various topics including programming, logic, and problem-solving. We also focus on our pupils’ knowledge and understanding of computation and digital technology. The curriculum also covers how computers work, computer arithmetic, logic and systems development.

Pupils are taught to:

  • Understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science
  • Analyse problems in computational terms
  • Be responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology


To provide a rich and fulfilling learning experience, pupils will get involved in various exciting new initiatives, including the BBC’s ‘Make it Digital’, visits to local universities and inspirational workshops from Technocamps and Computing At Schools.


From September 2021, this new subject will be available to students who want to develop and build on their digital skills, knowledge and understanding used in school and their everyday lives. 

The WJEC GCSE qualification in Digital Technology is a broad-based qualification that will allow learners to improve their understanding in a range of digital technology systems at use in our connected and globalised society. It will also allow learners to explore the ever-evolving nature of digital technology systems and how they can be used productively, creatively and safely. 

What will be studied? 

The subject content and assessment requirements ensure learners develop an appropriate breadth and depth of knowledge, understanding and skills in digital technology. 

The three units of study include: 

Unit 1 The digital World 

On-screen examination 

40% of qualification 

Unit 2 Digital practices 

Non-exam assessment: 45 hours 

40% of qualification 

Unit 3 Communicating in the digital world 

Non-exam assessment: 15 hours 

20% of qualification 

What skills will be developed? 

This WJEC GCSE specification in Digital Technology will enable learners to: 

  • Become independent, confident and knowledgeable users of existing, new and emerging digital technologies 
  • Develop knowledge of different digital technology systems used across a range of occupational sectors
  • Understand the impact digital technologies can have on individuals and wider society and how they can bring about change 
  • Develop skills in organising and analysing data to identify trends and audiences 
  • Become creators of digital products, in a variety of formats and for a variety of purposes, that meet specified, authentic needs 
  • Develop transferable skills in using a range of hardware and software 
  • Develop their understanding of the systems development life cycle and of how ideas can become products.